Sunday, December 30, 2012

Books in the Mail (W/E 2012-12-29)

The last full week of the year and the biggest book of 2013 arrives. Christmas was also this past week so not much else arrived.

Seven Kings (Books of the Shaper Volume 2) by John R. Fultz (Orbit Trade Paperback 01/25/2013) –Second installment of Fultz’s epic sword & sorcery saga, the first volume of which Seven Princes seemed to be a love-it-or-hate-it book.

In the jungles of Khyrei, an escaped slave seeks vengeance and finds the key to a savage revolution. 

In the drought-stricken Stormlands, the Twin Kings argue the destiny of their kingdom: one walks the path of knowledge, the other treads the road to war. 

Beyond the haunted mountains King Vireon confronts a plague of demons bent on destroying his family. 

Iardu the Shaper weaves history like a grand tapestry, spinning sorceries into a vision of apocalypse. 

Giants and Men march as one to shatter a wicked empire.

The fate of the known world rests on the swift blades of Seven Kings….

A Memory of Light < (The Final Volume of The Wheel of Time Novel, Book 14) by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (Tor Hardcover 01/08/2013) – DO I really need to say anything about this book? As of this writing of this blog post, I’m on book 12, The Gathering Storm

Since 1990, when Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time® burst on the world with its first book, The Eye of the World, readers have been anticipating the final scenes of this extraordinary saga, which has sold over forty million copies in over thirty languages.

When Robert Jordan died in 2007, all feared that these concluding scenes would never be written. But working from notes and partials left by Jordan, established fantasy writer Brandon Sanderson stepped in to complete the masterwork. With The Gathering Storm (Book 12) and Towers of Midnight (Book 13) behind him, both of which were # 1 New York Times hardcover bestsellers, Sanderson now re-creates the vision that Robert Jordan left behind.

Edited by Jordan’s widow, who edited all of Jordan’s books, A Memory of Light will delight, enthrall, and deeply satisfy all of Jordan’s legions of readers.

The Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass.

What was, what will be, and what is,

may yet fall under the Shadow.

Let the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.

The Dread (Book One of The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga) by Gail Z. Martin (Orbit Books Trade Paperback 01/08/2013) – Since Martin’s first novel, The Summoner published in 2007, this is her sixth published novel and first to break away from her earlier series.

Condemned as a murderer for killing the man who dishonored his sister, Blaine "Mick" McFadden has spent the last six years in Velant, a penal colony in the frigid northern wastelands. Harsh military discipline and the oppressive magic keep a fragile peace as colonists struggle against a hostile environment. But the supply ships from Dondareth have stopped coming, boding ill for the kingdom that banished the colonists.

Now, as the world's magic runs wild, McFadden and the people of Velant must fight to survive and decide their fate ...

From Gail Z. Martin, author of the beloved series THE CHRONICLES OF THE NECROMANCER and THE FALLEN KINGS CYCLE, comes a new fantasy adventure for the ages.

Welcome to the end of the world.

Welcome to the beginning of THE ASCENDANT KINGDOMS SAGA.

No comments: